Our Mobile App: iPhone · Android

• You are trying to conceive?
  • You have pregnancy questions?
  • How do you know whether your baby's teething or has a cold?
  • You have Family, home & financial issues?

...Then you have come to the right place!
we will try to help you with your problem.

Stay at Home or Work?

This is a discussion on Stay at Home or Work? within the Stay at Home or Work at Home Mum Club forum, part of the MummySG Lifestyle category; Would love to be a stay home mom. I'm pregnant now, due in October, and have quitted my job not ...

Imperial Concubine
    Stay at Home or Work?

Would love to be a stay home mom. I'm pregnant now, due in October, and have quitted my job not long ago. I would really love to be with my baby in his early years, watch him grow, teach him morals, educate him in knowledge, and I studied developmental psychology last time so I'm very interested to observe his growing up years and apply what I learnt. Unfortunately, everyone around me is encouraging me to work full time, especially since mother in law offered to take care of baby.

My worries are, babies need undemanding attention from mothers when they are young in order to grow up as a confident child. I will be depriving my child of that if I really go to work when he's very young like before 1 year old. And most of my friends' kids who are taken care of or doted on by grandparent(s) seem to be more spoilt and easily become trouble teens as compared to their less doted on by grandparents siblings. They dont really listen to my friends when they discipline them. Maybe coz they are used to being protected by grandparents.

I'm at a dilemma... whether to stay at home or to find a job soon after baby is born.

PS: Pls dont spam this with work at home advertisements. Thanks!

Re: Stay at Home or Work?

Hi Lyra,

It really up to parents on how to raise there kids. It doesn't matter if your at home or your working even if you stay at home and does not work