Beware of this unethical tuition agency - Txxxxxx Exx LLP

Alessendra

Beware of this unethical tuition agency - Tuition Era LLP

Hi parents, as a parent I'm you've had difficulties engaging responsible and patient tutors who are willing to put in effort to teach your children well. Due to your busy schedules, you will have no time to assess tutors one by one but go to agencies to help you shortlist tutors.

As a tutor myself, I have dealt with many tuition agencies, I have met some good ones and some, sad to say, are completely unprofessional. They take advantage of the standard practice of collecting 50% commission from tutors to cheat our hard earned money.

One such agency is Tuition Era LLP, operated by 2 brothers, Richard and Philip Tan. They engaged me for an assignment and collected the referral fee from the parent (standard practice). However, due to family issues, the parent cancelled the tuition within a month, claiming no fault on my part as a tutor. The agency insisted that since the assignment was terminated within a month, there will be no payment for the tutor ($250). How is this right? As a student, the $250 is a month worth of expenses, I was flabbergasted that there were such unethical tuition agencies in Singapore. As a tutor, we have no protection and recourse against such behaviour. I had initially suggested that even though the tuition was terminated in the first month, I will still pay a nominal fee as commission to them but when they stopped replying me, the intention was clear - they were never going to pay me the money I earned.

I went to small claims court and lodged a complaint against them but they did not even show up for the consultation. To take further action against them, I have to fork out at least $500 for a writ of seizure and sale and there is no assurance that I will be able to get my money back. I told myself there was nothing I could do, and to just give up and take it as a lesson learnt.