Bird nest during pregnancy?

leelynn2006

Dear Mummies,

is it true that eating bird nest during pregnancy is really good for baby?
What's your take on this?

angelwendy

try to wait till 3rd tri then take.. because bird nest is consider cooling.. & is too cooling for the baby.. not good for bb lungs... try to take onli once every 2 weeks...

sg81hani

bird nest was too expensive, so i drank coconut juice 3rd trimester onwards. Some say that it gives ure baby nice fair complexion and during labour baby will be 'clean'. It worked for me ; )

luvjoanne

Actu bird nest is jus full of proteins and nothing much. Expensive cos of the process of harvesting.. Actu when I studied biology previously, my lecturer mentioned tt birds nest is actually an allergen - which means, birds nestcan cause allergy. In children, it is proven tt frequent drinking of birds nest lead to asthma, perhaps due to parts of the feathers n others tt might b stuck together on the nest.
Thus, do restrict ur level of intake of birds nest if possible :)

leelynn2006

Thanks Joanne.. its really what a gynae might say, cos its not scientifically proven of its advantages..
From what I gathered, yes coconut towards the last tri,(helps in cleansing) birdnest also (good for baby complexion, also for Mummies), but restrict to minimal intake ba...

:)

sassylady

ohhh. thanks for the heads up joanne. i take birds nest only like once a few days during my pregnancy. luckily my bb is healthy and all.

i read that it's best to consume birds nest at night between 11pm - 2am is the time when the body replenishes the spent energy and is best able to absorb all the goodness of the birds nest.

saw that in some article about the radio dj violet taking bottled nestural birds nest during her pregnancy. i guess taking all the birds nest is making her glow.

Mummy to Baby V

Yes, bird's nest is a common allergen, so some people cannot take it.