Foundation Repair

Hi everyone,

I'm creating this thread to document and get feedback on a foundation repair that I'm going to start on the home that I live in.

I purchased this home in February of 2020, knowing about the problem. Prior to putting the home under contract, I brought in an engineer to give his opinion of the wall and I felt comfortable with his advice and agreed that impending catastrophic failure wasn't an immediate concern.

A little of my background and objectives in this project - I am a licensed contractor - but masonry and foundations are not my niche by trade. Some of you may tell me to leave this to the pros but I wouldn't be where I am today if I haven't dug into something I knew little about. I do believe there is a line that has to be drawn on when to bring in professional help. The first steps in the process will be for investigation, and determine potential paths. I ask for your patience.

The home is a 2600 SF, "L" shape ranch, with a partially finished basement. I will draw a basement layout at some point showing the problem areas. From what I can see from inside, the two problem areas are along the front faces of the house. One CMU wall that is under our living room is the primary concern. The wall is approx. 27' long, and 2/3 of the wall bas a bow, with the largest deflection point being around 1-7/8". I found this by shooting a laser parallel to the wall and measuring at 3 points (sill, mid-point, and bottom of the wall).

From the top of footer to the sill is about 8'. There is a horizontal crack that runs at 4' elevation for the above mentioned 2/3's of the wall. There are also a few step cracks. Horizontal displacement is no greater than 1/8" at any point. Where the wall "T's" into the foundation for the "L" runout of the house, there have been previous repairs with what looks like parging. There's a shelf attached to the wall that I will removed for further investigation.