Does anyone successfully express bm at an interval of more than 6 hours and ..

vane_etoile

still maintain supply? and How long hav you been doing that?

I have been expressing for 1 month (dd 2 months old) 6 hourly (4times a day), with around 280-320ml each session (both breast). I heard we shouldn't stop expressing for more than 4 hours. I m worried if this is true as I intend to extend to 9 hourly pump cuz its less tiring.. Any mom out there still manage to do it for a long time? Did u experienced any drop of supply? Thnks!

ahpei

for me, i have to express breastmilk at an interval of about 6 hours since 1 month ago, cos i'm back to work. Previously during maternity leave, i could have about 120 - 140ml every 3-hourly, but with a 6-hour interval, i have about 240ml, or sometimes, worst, can only reach 150ml from both breasts.....

sometimes at 6 hour interval, my breasts are engorged, and could hardly get anything out....:Dancing_furious:

snowbear

still maintain supply? and How long hav you been doing that?

I have been expressing for 1 month (dear daughter 2 months old) 6 hourly (4times a day), with around 280-320ml each session (both breast). I heard we shouldn't stop expressing for more than 4 hours. I m worried if this is true as I intend to extend to 9 hourly pump cuz its less tiring.. Any mom out there still manage to do it for a long time? Did you experienced any drop of supply? Thnks!
My sister In law expressed only twice a day and each time can get at least 500ml (total from both breasts). She did this for abt 6 months.

missblue18

Hi coz of my job, on some days i express only after 9 hours...so far the supply remains the same maybe coz when i'm at home i'll latch baby on so tat helps...also when i was away for 3 day 2 nights, i expressed abt 6-7hrly n only express when breasts were very full...supply still ok...

DodoTan